World Cup Betting History

GemBet - History of World Cup Betting

by GemBet
World Cup odds

The World Cup is the biggest sporting event in the world, so it’s no surprise that it offers some of the most exciting betting markets. As you prepare for the next big event, check out the following World Cup betting history for insights into previous tournaments.


What Are the Biggest World Cup Betting Shocks?

One of the biggest surprises in World Cup history is that there has been no shock winner. The European Championships had Denmark in 1992 and Greece in 2004. The Premier League had Blackburn in 1995 and Leicester City in 2016. But the World Cup trophy usually goes to one of the best teams in the world at the time.

There have been big shocks in the run-up to the tournament, though.

In 2014, the world watched as Germany annihilated Brazil 7-1 on Brazilian soil. Many predicted a win for the Canarinhos, but they were 5-0 down within half an hour. It was total capitulation made slightly less embarrassing by Oscar’s consolation goal in the 90th minute.

Many sportsbooks offered odds of 501.0 for this outcome, and that’s because they rarely set odds any higher for Correct Score markets. A bet of just $1 would have generated a $501 payout.

Many sportsbooks offered odds of 501.0 for this outcome, and that’s because they rarely set odds any higher for Correct Score markets. A bet of just $1 would have generated a $501 payout. 

In the same tournament, Spain fell to a 1-5 defeat against the Netherlands, even though they were the defending champions. Other big shocks include South Korea’s 1-2 victory over Italy in 2002, Cameroon beating Argentina in 1990, and Algeria getting the better of West Germany in 1982.


Betting on the Host

The hosts always attract a disproportionate number of bets. Not only do home fans have high hopes, but many bettors place a lot of emphasis on this advantage.

But that advantage isn’t as strong as you might think.

There have been six host winners of the World Cup, but that number doesn’t tell the whole story.

Firstly, two winners were in the first two World Cups when overall participation was low. By 1978, there had been 11 World Cup tournaments, and five titles had gone to host nations. Since then, however, we’ve only seen one World Cup host-winner – France in 1998. Although, it was hosted by some of the highest-ranking national teams in the world, including Brazil, Germany, Italy, and Spain, among others. 


Golden Ages

These teams haven’t always been successful, but they are usually consistent when reaching the knockout stages and being in with a chance.

But that might not be the case in years to come, and we only need to check the records to see that.

In the 1950s, it was all about Hungary, known as the “Magical Magyars.” This era is remembered for Puskás and co., and while they never got their hands on the trophy, they certainly got close. Uruguay had its golden age during the tournament’s early years, winning two of the first four World Cups.

In the 1970s, the Netherlands was the team to watch, but they were always the bridesmaids and never the bride. The Netherlands finished second in 1974 and 1978, which meant the era of Cruyff passed without a trophy.


Place Your Bets Now

These are just a few victories and defeats that made football, the World Cup, and betting history. There is no doubt the 2022 World Cup will be a spectacle in its own right. We expect to see many memorable moments that will make the luckiest bettors rejoice and worldwide audiences stand in awe.


The promotions mentioned in this blog post are not always representative of the current offers on GemBet. Please check the Promo page for the latest promotions available in your region. Terms and conditions may change without notice. We recommend reviewing the current promotions before participating. We are not liable for actions based on this information. Contact customer support for assistance.


You may also like

Leave a Comment